How to obtain a claim number
Once a participant contacts you for representation, call or email our office to obtain a claim number. We will need the transaction code (or description of case) along with the participants name and social.
- Phone: 1-800-222-3024 (within California) 1-800-222-3025 (outside California)
- Email: LST@deltafund.com
Have the participant complete a claim form and the rights and responsibilities form. If you obtain a claim number before the client comes into the office, be sure to have them complete the form as soon as they come into the office. Payment for the claim cannot be issued without this form.
You must not complete any work on the case until a claim number is acquired. A claim number authorizes you for your service as well as verifies that a participant is eligible. Claim numbers will not be backdated and no payments will be issued for services rendered before the date of claim issuance.
The claim form and rights and responsibilities form must be submitted with or prior to your first billing. You are required to keep a copy of this claim form in your records.
If the spouse is the client, they need to sign the claim form. The claim form waives certain rights of the client. The spouse cannot sign on behalf of the client and waive those rights for them.
The claim form can be signed electronically as long as the signature contains a verification stamp such as the one provided through DocuSign or Adobe Sign. It cannot be just the members name typed in.
If the client is a domestic partner to the member, a partnership affidavit is required along with the claim form.
How to submit invoices
Invoices can be emailed to LST@deltafund.com or faxed to 209-940-5251.
Billing statements need to be submitted monthly for services rendered in the previous
Statements are due by the close of business on the 14 th for payment to be issued on the 20 th or by close of business on the last day of the month for payment to be issued on the 5 th of the following month. If these dates fall on a weekend or holiday, the cutoff is the prior business day.
Do not wait until a case is complete to submit billing. Any billing which is submitted and has dates of service that are 180 days past will be denied.
If you choose to use your own billing statement that is fine as long as it includes all of the required items.
The following items are required on all submitted billings:
- Attorney code
- Claim number and transaction code
- Dates of services and time (hours & minutes / % of hour of service)
- Fee per date of service ($200/hr for attorneys and $100/hr for paralegals)
- Description for each fee
The invoice must state which attorney performed the work. This can be done by listing the attorneys initials next to each date of service or adding a statement that says “All work performed by (attorneys name). The attorney initials must be typed or printed so they can clearly be read.
Filing fees and mediation cost are issued a separate claim number. You must call our office to obtain this number. Please make sure that you write this claim number on the billing form. There is a section at the bottom of the dates of service/description section for you to bill for filing fees.
Travel expenses must also be issued a separate claim number. Travel expenses must be preapproved by contacting our office. Panel Attorneys should avoid accepting cases where travel is required unless there is not an attorney who could complete the case without having to incur travel expenses.
Photocopies, toll calls, express delivery, messenger fees, etc. are not covered.
No payments or claim numbers will be issued if our records indicate that your malpractice insurance has expired. Any time you receive an updated insurance contract, please forward us a copy of the declaration page.
Only attorneys approved by the Board can work on Teamster cases. If there are other attorneys in your firm who would like to work on Teamster cases, they must go through the approval process first.
When billing for cost you must list the date of service, description of the fee, and the amount of the fee. If you have multiple fees they need to be listed individually. You will also need a filing fee claim number.
Costs that are covered:
- process server
- certified copies
- court calls
- cost to issue a subpoena
- mediation (family matter cases only)
- GAL or custody investigators
- Travel – must be more than 35 miles one way and requires preapproval
Costs not covered:
- Bank charges and bank legal fees for preparation of mortgage documents
- Title reports
- Fines, penalties, or fees which have been charged against the member
- Private investigations
- Polygraph tests
- Adoption agency fees
- Medical examinations and tests
- Abstract updating
- Copies of driving records and police reports
- Postage and copy fees charged by the attorney
- Long distance calls
- Witness fees
- Courier / messenger / express delivery fees
- Immigration application fees